top of page

Suncroft GFC AGM Nov 2018

The meeting was well attended and rounded off a very successful 2018 with eight county titles, three Leinster titles and an All-Ireland title won by club teams and players.

The senior ladies Intermediate Championship and division two League double was a highlight for the club as was the LGFA minor all Ireland.

• Senior Ladies - Intermediate Championship • Senior Ladies League winners D2 • U16 Ladies League winners D5 • U14 Ladies League winners D4 • U13 Ladies League winners D2 • U18 Lads D Championship • U17 Lads League winners D3 • U14 Lads League winners D4

• Leinster Junior title - Eoghan Lawless • Leinster U16 title - Ciara Fennelly • Leinster & All-Ireland Minor title - Carla Ennis, Megan Troy, Aislinn Dooley & Eve Kehoe.

Among the many highlights from the year was the addition of forty-five players to the club playing numbers was a great boost and a testament to the hard work of all the volunteers, coaches, parents and Games Promotion Officer who has been putting a good effort into the parishes national schools. Players are key to everything that we do and the clubs future and it is a great boost for everyone to get such a lift in one year.

Some great progress had been made on the development of the playing surfaces during the year. The new training and underage pitch area is complete and only waiting on a bit of time to let the grass and sod develop, hopefully into action in the 2019 summer. Over 600 meters of ball killing thorny ditch has been removed and replaced with a new laurel hedge and fencing. The old lights are also in the process of being changed and the new LED lights should brighten things up as well as saving on the power bills. The main pitch has been drained, spiked and sanded and the dip at the lower end removed. One of the most utilised investments made in 2018 was the two sets of mobile underage goal posts which were in constant use.

On the finance front Suncroft GFC sincerely thanked all of the Clubs sponsors, ticket purchasers, ticket sellers, members and everybody that helped out in any way they could. Meadow Court Stud coming on board as main club sponsor was a great boost as was the valuable support from club stall-worth’s, The Well, Troy Electrical, Howard family, Murphy weekend, Delaney Commercials, and M7 Test centre.

Overall a great year on and off the pitch and a lot of positives heading into 2019 and beyond.

The following officers were elected at the AGM:

CLUB EXECUTIVE Chairperson: Mick Kehoe Vice-Chairperson: Des Brannock Secretary: Margaret Malone Vice Secretary: Val Dillon Treasurer: Pat Sutton Vice Treasurer: Paddy Behan Registrar: Rita Kehoe Childrens Officer: Flan Hassett PRO: Hugh O'Byrne County Delegate: James Keane, Val Dillon, Johnny McGuirk Irish & Culture Officer: Mary Fennelly Pitch Co-ordinator: Alan Troy Coaching & Development Officer: Mark Prendergast

The club sincerely thanked Shane Kavanagh for his 10 years on the clubs Executive (1yr County Delegate, 1yr Treasurer, 2yrs chairperson and 6yrs as secretary). A long term committed and hard-working member of the Executive who will continue his support for the club as a life-long member. Over the years in addition to his contribution to securing sponsors and fundraising Shane was instrumental in the successful amalgamation of the Ladies (LGFA) into the main club, was the lead coordinator for the clubs first ever five year strategic plan (2012 - 2017) which was successfully executed, and as treasurer he introduced a transparent financial management system to the club which still in exists. Shane was key negotiator in helping the club finance and purchase additional land and then key to securing grants to develop the land. This is our new training and underage pitch area which will see its first football action in 2019. Throughout his time on the Executive Shane ensured the club administration was up to date and given its critical importance ensured that child protection was at all times top of the priority list. Shane and his work is highly respected by key stakeholders including Kildare County Board, the Leinster Council and Croke Park Officials. Shane always put the best interest of the club first and foremost in any decisions made and his contribution to the development of the clubs facilities, footballers and first class administration is clear for all to see.

Hopefully it is just a short break and Shane will take up a roll in the Executive again at some time in the future.

The club also sincerely thanked Evelan Poole for her dedication in her two years as Children's Officer. Evelyn helped to ensured that all the children were in a safe and fun environment and again hopefully it is just a short break and Evelyn will be back involved again in the near future.

UNDERAGE Sub-Committee Chairperson: Mark Prendergast Secretary: Derry Enright Board Na N'Og Delegate: Mark Prendergast South Board Delegate: Mark Prendergast

LADIES Sub-Committee Chairperson: Clare Keon Secretary: Karen Ennis Registrar: Rita Kehoe County Delegates: Johnny McGuirk & Kevin Fennelly

SENIOR Sub-Committee (U17's+) Chairperson: Mick Kehoe Des Brannock Mickey Harnette Dean Slattery Ciararn Troy Seamus Dillon Johnny McGuirk

FINANCE Sub-Committee Chairperson: Leon Brinkley Louise McGuirk Pat Sutton Val Dillon Mickey Harentt Dean Slattery Chloe Foy Paddy Bean Ger Fox

bottom of page