top of page


Hawkfield, Saturday 27 May 2017. Suncroft v Moorefield. Ref: Jason Corcoran

Hard luck to the Suncroft Ladies who came up a bit short in the Division 2 league final against Moorefield.

The ladies won the division four league in 2015, overcoming Athy by five points in the final and moved up to division three for 2016. They went on to win division three in 2016, overcoming Moorefield by five points in the final and moved up to division two for 2017. On their way to the division two final the ladies played eight competition games (won five, drew one and lost two). Suncroft had met Moorefield earlier in the league and on that occasion Suncroft came out on top by two points. There was absolutely nothing between the teams, and a good game was expected in the final.

It was a bright enough evening considering the massive amount of rain that had fallen during the day and fortunately the pitch was in good condition and the rain stayed away for the game.

Suncroft got off to a good start and had two points on the scoreboard (Trina Duggan & Eve Kehoe, goal bound shot tipped over by goalkeeper) before Moorefield got their first point in the sixth minute (Aisling Curley). Unfortunately for the rest of the first half the Croft were well off the pace, Moorefield were first to the ball almost every time, and Suncroft was regularly left exposed at the back. Suncroft missed a few chances but was it not for poor shooting by Moortfield the game would have been over by half time. Moorefield scored a further six unanswered points and a goal (Dearbhail Kelly 1, Aisling Curley 1, Kayleigh Humphries 1:1, Samantha Cullen 1, Mary Hulgraine 1(f), Leanne Curran 1) before Suncroft (Aislinn Dooley) scored just before half time. Suncroft were really struggling to get the ball from the half back line up to the forwards and were under constant pressure at the back. Half time, Suncroft 0:03(3), Moorefield 1:07(10).

Moorefield (LEanne Curran) scored a goal straight from the throw in a move that looked like it had been worked out on the training field. However, a few changes and with Ellen Dowling at midfield Suncroft were more in the game in the second half and put two good point on the board in quick succession. Aislinn Dooley from play and an Ellen Dowling free). In the fifth minute of the second half Moorefield intercepted a short Croft kickout and got a gift of a goal (Aisling Curley) to reassert themselves on the game. Despite the blow the Suncroft girls didn’t give up. There was dogged defending at both ends and twelve minutes passed before Moorefield got their next, and last, point (Leanne Curran), Suncroft 0:05(5) Moorefield 3:08(17). Megan Troy had come on for the Croft and added another badly needed attacking channel. Over the last fifteen minutes Suncroft were well on top and scored three points (Trina Duggan, Ellen Dowling and Carla Ennis) and a cracker of a goal (Eve Kehoe) before the end of the game which finished, Suncroft 1:08(11) Moorefield 3:08(17).

A less than par game by the Suncroft ladies especially in the first half. A couple of injuries and some not 100% recovered... going into the game didn’t help. Unfortunately, by the time they found their feet in the second half the deficit was too big. Paula Brown had an outstanding game from start to finish.

Fantastic to get to the final after stepping up two divisions in two years and an exciting championship to look forward to.

Suncroft Panel: Rebecca McGuirk, Paula Brown, Muireann Fagan, Sophie Hobbs, Ciara Fennelly, Chloe Foy, Abbie Lea Poole, Trina Duggan 0-2,Nicole Dooley, Eve Kehoe 1-1, Ellen Dowling 0-2(1f), Aislinn Dooley 0-2, Carla Ennis 0-1, Michelle McCormac, Rebecca Johnson, Anna O’Modhrain, Megan Troy, Doreen O’Connor, Aine Troy, Caoimhe Doyle, Aislinn Connolly, Kate O’Donnell, Niamh Bolger, Risa Ennis, Lorraine Foy. Management: Noel Poole, Owen Fagan, Karen Ennis, Eamonn O’Modhrain. .................

Moorefield Panel: Niamh Doyle, Ciara Regan, Shauna Doyle, Rachel McNamara, Emma Curley, Sheena O’Brien, Amber Masterson, Aisling Curley 1-2, Michelle Curley, Dearbhail Kelly 0-1, Leanne Curran 1-2, Carrie Pedley, Kayleigh Humphries 1-1, Samantha Cullen 0-1, Jordanna Rooney, Aisling Murray, Sarah Murray, Fionnuala Kelly, Mary Hulgraine 0-1(1f), Ciara Bruce, Kate Hannon, Ciara Conaty, Sue Kavanagh, Niamh Doran, Leah Delaney. Management: Mick Masterson, Paul Dempsey, Geraldine Behan, Seamus Fingelton.

bottom of page