top of page

Suncroft U16’s Have a Great Run in the 2015 Championship

After struggling to get enough players and struggling on the field in the League in the early half of the year Suncroft’s U16 Lad’s upped their game and commitment and had a championship campaign that the lads, and the club, can be very proud of.

The team had great wins along the way against Sarsfield, Clane, Monasterevan, and Raheens but on the night of the final, unfortunately for the Suncroft lad’s, Two Mile House came out on top.

The night of the final in Hawkfield was wet, non-stop rain, and windy which didn’t suit Suncroft’s style of play but despite this Suncroft still had some notable performances from Adam Stack, Aaron Sinnott and Fionn Heffernan in defence, Cian Prendergast and Jack Doyle tried their best in the middle of the park, David Sutton made some fine saves in goal (particularily the save in the first minute), Dylan King, Diarmuid Brannock and Owen Setright caused problems for the Two Mile House Defence. Kalumn Ennis and Mark Brown made some penetrating runs on goal and at the back Eoin Duffy, Conor Smyth, Josh Tackaberry and Alan Millot stood up well to numerous fast and smooth Two Mile House passing movements. All four subs (Shane Ryan, Patrick Corrigan, Jack Lawless and Sean Knight) were called upon and contributed.

Despite the conditions all the players played well but even with switches, changes and substitutions the Croft could not do enough to turn the game around.

Over the campaign ten different Croft players contributing on the score board as the lads scored 13 goals and 72 points (111) and a strong defence and a solid goal keeper they only conceded 10 goals and 60 points (90).

Under the management of Pat Sutton and training of Tommy Cleary, John Brown and John Stack (with the occasional dig out by Jack Setright and Wayne Middleton) the U16’s improved over the year and had a fantastic Championship. This group of players made amazing progress in the year and if they stick with it there is a great future ahead of them.

2015 Panel: David Sutton, Eoin Duffy, Conor Smyth, Josh Tackaberry, Alan Millot, Fionn Heffernan, Aaron Sinnott, Cian Prendergast, Kalumn Ennis, Jack Doyle, Mark Browne, Diarmuid Brannock, Dylan King, Adam Stack, Owen Setright, Patrick Corrigan, Shane Ryan, Jack Lawless, Zac Mullins, Sean Knight and William Flood.

bottom of page