top of page

Suncroft U12’s Have a Great Run in the 2015 Division 1 League

It was always going to be a tough job to defend the Division 1 title that Suncroft had won in 2014 and the lads did a fantastic job in reaching the final.

The team had great wins along the way against Two Mile House, Sarsfield, Round Towers and Moorefield but on the night of the final, unfortunately for the Suncroft lad’s, Athy were too strong.

Moorefield beat the lads by a point along the way. However the Croft got another go at Moorefield in the semi final and this time, in a game that was refereed in a most unusual or weighted manner, justifiably came out on top in the end.

In the final Suncroft were not fast enough to get into the game and unfortunately for Suncroft this allowed Athy to dominated the early part of the game and by half time they had build up a six point lead. Again Suncroft did not start the second half fast enough and Athy had stretched the lead to nine points by the time Suncroft kicked into a proper gear. Suncroft fought hard and with about 10 minutes to go the deficit was down to three points. Suncroft’s push forward to get scores left them a bit exposed at the back and Athy took advantage in the last few minutes and scored a couple of goals to put the game out of reach for Suncroft.

Over the league eleven different Croft players contributing on the score board as the lads scored 33 goals and 55 points (154) and with a strong defence and a solid goal keeper they only conceded 21 goals and 46 points (109).

Under the management and training of Derry Enright, Andy Hynes, Declan Duignan and Ciaran Troy the lads football skills and play improved from game to game and while, at times, they were slow to get into the game it was impressive how they fought tooth and nail right up to the final whistle in every game.

Panel: Jamie McGowan, Kieran Kelly, Ben Colman, Leo Brannock, Mikey Troy, Ethan Duignan, Conor Martin, Conn Kehoe (Captain), Sam Prendergast, Sennan Brannock, Adam Hynes, Diarmuid Enright, Liam Knight, Dylan Wijnands, Darragh Kearney, Alex King, Sean Browne, John Collins, Gavin Fox, Sean Stynes, Colin Clarke and Peter Rennick.

bottom of page